La Fleche Wallonne 2015 Parcours

On Wednesday, April 22, 2015 was in Belgium for the 79th time Fleche Wallonne held. The distance of this edition was 205.5 kilometers, while this distance, the riders had to climb 11 times. Spaniard Alejandro Valverde was in the beginning as the defending champion and big favorite. This year, the finish line was again on top of the Mur de Huy.

Den Flèche Wallonne

Since 1936 Wallonia in cycling classic Fleche Wallonne held. In 1936 the Belgian Philippe de Meersman the first winner. The top of the Mur de Huy has been since 1983 a permanent place finish.Starting in 1998, now there is both an issue of women each year.Marianne Vos dominated here with five wins. The organization of the Fleche Wallonne, ASO ASO also organizes the Tour de France, Paris-Nice and Liege-Bastogne-Liege. Since 2011, the contest is part of the UCI ProTour races.


The last climb
Ivory Ereffe
Ivory Ereffe climbed for a second time on 16.5 kilometers from the finish. The length of this pitch is 2100m. The average percentage is 5% and the climb has a gradient of 9%. On the climb several riders have written an attack.
Cote de Cherave
At 5.5 km before the end of the Côte de Cherave climbed. With an average gradient of 8.1% and a length of 1300m belonged to this climb to a spectacular finale. A rider managed to create a gap and solo to begin the final climb.
Wall of Huy
This was the last climb of the day, at the summit was the finish line. Wall of Huy was the toughest climb of the day, and three times in the course. What the climb was so heavy was the highest growth rate of 19.4%. Here is the game itself, the drivers made ​​it to a sprint among the favorites.
Early flight
After eight kilometers of course, a small group managed to leave the platoon. During the flight, two Dutch, Reinier Honig and Mike Teunissen, three Belgian Thomas De Gendt, Pieter Vanspeybrouck and Jérôme Baugnies. The second was an Italian Daniele Ratto and a Frenchman Romain Feillu.
The peloton had escapees maximum lead of eight minutes. About 14 kilometers before the end Baugnies was the last of the escapees returned.
Favourite Philippe Gilbert attacked 50 kilometers from the finish. He continued that his way, but then quickly got his bike. With 40 kilometers left was a second crash in a short time, now the Dutchman Wout Poels lay on the ground. Poels not reach the finish line.
Ten kilometers later there was another crash, this time Jelle Vanendert crashed, he went away.
12 kilometers before the end, it was hit again, a big crash in the peloton. On the ground layers including Chris Froome and Paul Martens. They both knew to finish the race.
On the penultimate climb the Mur de Huy to beat Giovanni Visconti and Luis Leon Sanchez a hole and walk over to what was in the leading group remains. Shortly before Ivory Ereffe jumps Tejay van Garderen and Louis Vervaeke away from the peloton. Etixx Quick-Step did not appreciate this and began to hunt. A little further they were bought back. With only 10 kilometers, the Dutchman Huub Duijn dropped yet to see someone and put an attack, but it did not last much longer than a minute.
On the Côte de Cherave many riders tried to create a gap and the leading group was picked this. Attack of Tim Wellens managed to succeed, he Caruso behind. The descent was able to get back to the peloton Caruso. On the final climb, the peloton Wellens managed to also get back. In a mass sprint among the favorites did defending champion Alejandro Valverde finish line first. He completed before Julian Alaphilippe and Michael Albasini.


  • Alejandro Valverde
  • Julian Alaphilippe
  • Michael Albasini
  • Joaquim Rodriguez
  • Daniel Moreno
  • Alexis Vuillermoz
  • Sergio Henao
  • Jakob Fuglsang
  • Tom-Jelte Slagter (Cannondale-Garmin
  • Wilco Kelderman
  • Roman Kreuziger
  • Rinaldo Nocentini
  • Dylan Teuns
  • Pierre Rolland
  • Enrico Gasparotto